Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m not the world’s biggest chocolate lover. Sure, I’d love the chance to dive into a vat of Galaxy (pre-recipe change, thanks very much Mars) as much as the next girl, but I don’t live and breathe for it.

Which is why I surprised myself the other day and dug out a recipe from our honeymoon. We stayed in this beautiful little house in Provence and every morning had breakfast by the pool. Including these brownies, freshly baked every morning.  It’s no lie to say I could have stayed forever, until they had to winch me out of there.

Instead, the next best thing. Our hosts were kind enough to give me the recipe.  And last week was the time I finally got around to baking them.

Chocolate brownie

They were so good, I went out and bought white chocolate to try them as blondies.

White chocolate brownie

And then I had to be restrained from scoffing the lot.

So do blondes have more fun? They have a crisper crust, and slightly doughier texture. I’ll leave you to decide which ones you prefer!

Brownie Maison

  • 280g chocolate (either dark or white)
  • 250g butter or margarine
  • 4 eggs
  • 300g sugar
  • 150g plain flour
  • 50-100g nuts (I used macadamia but use any you want)

Makes 18-20 generous brownies

Preheat the oven to 185°C and line a pan with greaseproof paper. I used a standard roasting tin, gave me the right depth.  Melt the chocolate and butter or margarine together in a bowl over a pan of simmering water, stirring regularly.  Feel French as you declare ‘Oh, mon Bain Marie!’ and whistle La Marseillaise.   

Remove from the heat once melted and allow to cool (enough to not allow the eggs to curdle, not so much that the mixture hardens) and beat in the four eggs.

Add the sugar, flour and nuts and beat together.

Pour into the pan, then cook for 30 minutes. Check after this time, they may need another five minutes but should still be wobbly and have some ‘give’ when you pull them out. Otherwise they will go too solid as they cool – if you’re wondering if they’re done, as opposed to knowing that they’re not – be brave and pull them out!

Allow to cool, cut into squares, and enjoy.  Preferably by a pool in Provence, but failing that, with a cup of tea.

These will keep for up to a week in a tin, if you can keep your hands off them for long enough.  If you fancy ringing the changes, you could put raspberries in rather than nuts.

 

