Tags

, , , , , , ,

My love affair with Dale Pinnock’s way of eating continues.

It’s making me try new ingredients, discover old ones which I’d forgotten about, and generally stretch my diet in new directions. Which can only be a good thing. I’ve been stuck in a rut of pasta and child friendly cooking for too long. I even – shock horror – went off piste when we went out for dinner the other weekend and had the vegetarian curry rather than a steak. And by and large, I’m feeling much better for it.

Nothing is complicated, or takes too long, or needs ridiculous amounts of randomly available (and very expensive) ingredients. Anyone else remember the parody of Nigella Lawson several years ago when a comedian created an omelette out of very expensive golden dragon eggs? As an aside, if you can recall this, please send me a link to it – I can’t believe I can’t find it!

I promise there are no dragon eggs in the below recipe. I’ve adapted it from Dale’s Citrus Salmon and Garlicky Pak Choi. I upped the garlic and soy quotients as I just love the taste. This took about 25 minutes from start to finish, so still falls into the easy supper camp for me. I should probably have spent a few more minutes slicing my onions even more finely though, from an aesthetic point of view.

FullSizeRender (2)

Heaven on a plate.

Ingredients

  • Oil to cook – I used groundnut, but olive or sesame would work just as well
  • 1 finely chopped small onion
  • 4 finely chopped cloves of garlic
  • 1 large orange, juiced – plus a bit more if you have it (or out of the fridge if you panic like me!)
  • ½ lime, juiced
  • Zest of 1 lime, finely chopped
  • 2 salmon fillets
  • 1 packet of spring greens, kale or pak choi – or a mix thereof
  • 4 generous glugs of soy sauce
  • A couple of teaspoons of honey
  • Salt and pepper

Serves two. Add noodles or new potatoes if you wish but this is actually pretty filling.

Method

Preheat the oven to 200°C and line a baking tray with kitchen foil. Place the salmon fillets on the baking sheet, season with black pepper and bake for 20 minutes until done.

Heat a little olive oil in a small pan, add the onion and cook for a couple of minutes before adding half your chopped garlic and continue until softened. Add the orange and lime juice and zest, simmer gently until the sauce has reduced by about half. Panic when you realise your sauce has nearly all evaporated and top up with some orange juice from the fridge if needs be. Season with salt and pepper.

Heat a little olive oil in another pan, add the greens and stir-fry for a couple of minutes until starting to wilt. Add the remaining garlic, soy sauce and honey and continue to cook for a few more minutes until wilted. Place the sautéed greens in the centre of a plate, put a salmon fillet on top and top with citrus sauce.

