Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today, the Petite Pommes are on a day out of Adventures with Daddy and Granny.

I’ve gone wild, I tell you. Totally kerrrrrrazy.

So far I’ve been to the supermarket where I – in a moment of complete madness – went off list and, in addition to the usual gubbins, purchased a new dishwashuppy brush thing, a muffin, and the Saturday Telegraph. Weekends are fun in our house, make no mistake.

Then I came home in the rain and realised that we are starting a National Pepper Collection as both Le Pomme and I bought some.  Any suggestions of what is quick and easy to do involving more peppers than the EU Pepper Mountain would be gratefully received.  Otherwise they will fester in the fridge until one of us has a momentary rage against Pepper Space Utilisation and chucks them out.  As an aside, does anyone know what happened to the EU Wine Lake? Did someone drink it all? Was it me, in my wilder London days? It’s never mentioned now. I worry about this sort of thing, especially in the middle of the night. And it could have been me, there is a lot of white wine in my past.

I may shortly go completely bonkers and make some soup. I unearthed some rather sad looking broccoli and a few pathetic mushrooms in my fridge forage. With the rain pouring down, it seems rather suitable to turn them into Garbage Broth. And then have a small snoozle on the sofa.

That’s the way I roll.

Dinner tonight is possibly one of the fastest and easiest fish dishes out there: Sticky Salmon.  You can serve it hot or cold, with noodles or potatoes, and whatever veg takes your fancy. I do wonder how it would go with some peppers…

Sticky Salmon

  • Salmon fillets
  • Sesame Oil
  • Ground Ginger
  • Chinese Five Spice
  • Honey
  • Soy Sauce (dark if you have it)

There’s a reason this recipe has no amounts attached to it. That’s because it depends on how many pieces of salmon you wish to marinade, how much sauce you want with it, whether you like your food spicy or not, and – crucially – how sticky you like it. Roughly speaking, you want 2 parts soy to 1 part oil, but it really isn’t an exact science.  The longer you marinade, the better it is.

Method

Pour a generous glug of oil and a doubly generous glug of soy sauce into a flat-bottomed dish which can also go in the oven. Add a good teaspoon of Chinese Five Spice and approximately half that of Ground Ginger. Dollop in about two teaspoons of honey, and stir until dissolved. Place the salmon in the dish and spoon over the soy sauce mixture. Cover and put in the fridge until ready to cook. If this is going to be some time, turn over the fish fillets halfway through the day. I find doing this sometime in the morning for dinner that night is about right, but even half an hour in the marinade will make a difference.

Pre-heat the oven to 180°C and then uncover the dish and place in the oven. Cook for 15-20 minutes, depending on the thickness of your salmon fillets, spooning the sauce over the fish halfway through cooking. 

You could also use this marinade on meat or prawns, but I wouldn’t put it with other types of fish as it would be too overpowering.