Tags

, , , ,

I could bore you with tales of crazy DIY projects, an awesome Kaiser Chiefs final tour night, wailing children and a pile of admin as long as my arm, but I won’t. I think we have to admit I’m failing miserably at my resolution. But hopefully this means I’m not boring you rigid. Besides, it’s Lent now, and I’m giving up cake. I can’t cope with more than one resolution at a time. Hence my decision not to give up biscuits too – there’s only so much you can ask of a woman before she breaks.

Instead I will share this recipe for Spicy Golden Vegetable soup, which I served for lunch with two very special people on Monday.

My main criteria with food these days is that it has to be easy. And this certainly is. It also tastes like you’ve gone to a lot more trouble than you have – always a good thing.

You’ll notice a lack of amounts given for the vegetables – use whatever is in your cupboard and then add some common sense when it comes to the stock. I made it with 2 carrots, 2 parsnips and 4 sweet potatoes but you can mix and match at will.

Ingredients

1 onion
Assorted carrots / sweet potatoes / parsnips / swede or butternut squash
2 eating apples
1 teaspoon curry powder or Moroccan spices
Vegetable stock (enough to cover the vegetables)
Dollop of creme fraiche or a splash of milk

Method

Peel and chop the onion, then sauté gently over a low heat in with a dab or butter or a splash of olive oil until see through and smelling delicious.

Peel and roughly chop your vegetables.

Add the spices you’ve chosen to use to the onions – add more than 1 teaspoon if you like, you can always adjust the seasoning at the end. Allow to sizzle for a couple of minutes before adding the vegetables. Stir well and then add the stock, along with the peeled and chopped apples.

Simmer for 25 minutes, adding more stock halfway through cooking if you think it’s needed.

Whizz with a stick blender or liquidiser, then add a dollop of creme fraiche or a splash of milk. Depending on how many potatoes you’ve used, the soup may be thicker than you expect so just loosen it with more milk until you reach the required consistency. Test for spice adjustment – you want a gentle note in the background, not a full on orchestra.

Serve with naan or flat bread if you’re prepared, crackers if you’re not!

