Tags

, , ,

Lifelong, I’ve struggled with gravy.

Growing up, gravy was produced with apparently minimum effort up from a ginormous roasting tin which was ridged on the bottom and made a satisfying brmmmm brmmmm swoosh sound as my mother whisked juices into a delicious gravy. I’ve never been able to reproduce it.

This could be because I don’t have a brmmmm brmmmm swoosh roasting tin. Or, more likely, because I just never learned how to make proper gravy. I’d just chuck in some flour, a few (don’t tell my mother) Bisto granules, a dollop of wine and some vegetable water and hope for the best.

That’s all changed. I’ve happened upon A New Way. And now, for free, gratis and with only a soupçon of smugness, I share it with you.

My secret? Port. I kid you not. It was left over from Christmas and I got a bit fancy-schmancy one Sunday. I’ve since repeated my success several times, with increasing satisfaction levels. So, here goes. It’s not a precise art, so feel free to play around.

1 sliced onion
A knob of butter
A spoonful of plain flour
A rather-more-than-generous slug of port
A dash of Lea and Perrins / Yorkshire Relish
Vegetable or beef stock cube
Water from your par boiled potatoes or vegetables

Gently caramelise the onion in the butter, on a low heat, giving it loads of time to slowly become soft and translucent. Add the flour and stir til all the butter is absorbed. Do not panic if it looks a bit dry!

Add an extremely generous amount of port and let it bubble away for a few minutes before adding a similar amount of water, the stock cube and a dash of Lea and Perrins or Yorkshire Relish.

Allow to just bubble away gently til you need it, adding more water if necessary. For a final flourish, add the juices from the meat once it’s rested.

Relax and enjoy!

