Tags

, , , , ,

Le Pomme decided on Nigel Slater’s Moroccan Chicken for last night’s dinner. Apparently, we have had this before, many moons ago. I couldn’t recall any such meal, but went along with the pretense that I did.

And how could I have forgotten? It was so scrumdumdiddlyumptious, easy and quick that I will be making it again and again. If I’d been on my own and was intending to save a portion – well, that wouldn’t have happened, is all I can say.  We decided to add some peppers to the mix – frying them first til soft, then adding at the end  – as we realised that otherwise we’d be falling very sadly short of the vegetable quotient for the day, and they complemented the dish perfectly.

Can woman live on cous cous and chicken alone? With this, I most certainly could.

The only mistake I made was to eat it watching something about ridiculous American street food on the Food Network. The sight of a man blitzing a very lovely chocolate cake into a milkshake mix very nearly made me miss my mouth with the final forkful of Moroccan magic. Why would anyone do this? WHY???? I’m now concerned that I may be out of step with the rest of the world and actually this is a Really Good Thing to do with cake, but I doubt it. They call it a Cake Shake. That wasn’t what I shouted at the tellybox, let me tell you.

Right, I must be off. Time to buy a new toilet seat ahead of Major Bathroom Works. Aren’t you glad I’m back?!

Ingredients

350g (12oz) chicken fillets or boned pieces
1 fresh red chilli pepper (seeded and finely chopped)
1 tsp crushed dried chilli pepper
2 cloves of garlic (finely chopped)
Juice of 1/2 lemon
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp ground cinnamon
2 tbsp sultanas or raisins
2 tbsp pine nuts
1 tbsp chopped mint

Method

Mix together the fresh and dried chillies, garlic, lemon, half the olive oil, cinnamon, sultanas or raisins and pine nuts, and then pour over the chicken. It’s quite dry – I added all of the oil. I also, by accident, included the mint, and left out the dried chilli pepper as we didn’t have any, so put in an extra shaking of chopped red chilli.  I can’t tell you if this improved the flavour or not, as I haven’t tried it without either of these things.  Nigel recommends you leave for 20 minutes or so, an hour if possible. I left it for four hours, wrapped up outside (colder than the fridge which was full of Stuff).

Heat the remaining oil (or, if you’re like me, a splash of additional oil) and then when it’s hot add the chicken pieces.  Heat over high heat until golden brown and then turn them over and cook on the other side.

Scrape in the marinade ingredients and bring to the boil, season with salt and pepper, and scatter over the mint, ignoring the fact that it already has some in. Serve hot with its pan juices, with some cous cous or rice.

Do not add cake – at least, not until afterwards.

Yum.

