Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday I went on a road trip.  A foodie, fabulously fun, friendly and fascinating road trip up to the beautiful Yorebridge House, via Langton’s Fine Foods in Ripon.  The Yummy Yank and Harrogate Preserves Co and I nattered our way up and across hill and dale, talking of matters both foodie and non.  

We found treasure. Culinary treasure, in the form of Catherine Hill, the author of a delicious new book, The Weekend Cookbook. A former chef and food stylist, and passionate foodie, Catherine has written a book which she’s been thinking about for years: how to cook when you’re away for the weekend. 

We were fortunate enough to have received an invitation to a lunch and food demonstration organised by the amazing Irene Myers, a true lady and stalwart of the foodie world in the north east.  Who and what she doesn’t know in the culinary world isn’t worth knowing. So it was all a bit of an honour really.

Having previously picked up Catherine’s book and gone ohhhhhhhhhhh, and dribbled a bit as I flicked through, I was rather super-excited to meet her. And she was a delight – just as lovely as the food she cooks. She even put up with me rambling on, so for that alone I beg you to buy her book.  She deserves a treat after listening to my culinary perambulations.

And after we’d all had a good gossip, we settled down to a demonstration.  It was wonderful. Catherine’s book is divided along a timescale, rather than the traditional cookbook organisation. So, she’s created straightforward and quick recipes for Friday nights, breakfasts, brunches and lunches, something stunning yet easy for Saturday nights. Her book is packed with helpful hints and tips to make going away for the weekend simple. I can’t wait to try them out. I won’t be saving them until I’m away for the weekend, let me tell you!

She demo’d Mozzarella and Parma ham parcels, a lovely concept and quick to make – they tasted divine.

Then it was onto Seafood Linguini with Coriander Pesto – a delightfully moreish and impressive dish.

And for a grand finale, Raspberry and Double Chocolate Muffin Trifle.

I had to be restrained from picking her up and bundling her into the car to take home with me. She even styled the above shot and posted it on Twitter – my half eaten dinner never looks so good.

It’s a good job road trips make me hungry. It’s all that country air.  I’d worked up an appetite by talking about cheesecake and jam and chutney and cake.  We had a sumptuous repast.

Seafood salad:

Followed by Corn Fed Chicken with Wild Mushroom Risotto:

And then Strawberry Eton Mess with Elderflower Scented Cream:

We rolled home, via Berry’s Farm Shop.

I won’t need to eat for a week.

