Tags

, , , , , ,

I was lucky enough to be given 4kg of strawberries the other week. As you do.

If you’ve not seen 4kg of strawbs, that’s lots. My hulling hand gave up after about 1kg and I was just lopping the tops off. 2kg of them looked like this:

Strawberries in jam pan

After I’d finished with them, they looked like this.

Sticky strawberry jam

Okay, so it didn’t set, but it tastes flipping gorgeous. I used the wrong sugar, apparently, and should have added half a lemon. But we’ve been working our way through it, at a rate of knots, not least because of my newfound Greek-yogurt-with-a-spoonful-of-jam habit.  

In my passion to discover new things to eat runny jam with, I made scones.  Not least because I’d already eaten all the crumpets in the freezer, and fancied a change.

Scone and jam

The scones were much more successful than the jam. So I thought I’d give you that recipe, and not the jam one. Unless you too want to end up splattering yourself and your kitchen in deliciously runny ruby red goo.

Easy sultana scones:

  • 225 g (8 oz) Self Raising Flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 50 g (2 oz) margarine
  • 25 g (1 oz) caster sugar
  • 50 g (2 oz) sultanas
  • 1 medium egg, beaten with sufficient milk to make 150 ml (¼ pint) liquid

Preheat oven to 220°C, and line or grease a baking tray.

Rub margarine into flour and salt, add sugar and currants then mix through. Pour in half the milk and egg mixture and stir through, before adding the rest slowly. You may not need it all – you should end up with a gooey but not sticky dough which is capable of being rolled out. If it’s too wet, add a spoonful or two of flour to balance it out.

Dust your surface and turn out the dough. It doesn’t really like being handled, so try your best not to squish it around too much. Roll or press out the dough until it’s roughly 1” thick, then cut into either squares or use a cutter in your preferred shape. I ended up with 9 medium scones from the above recipe.

Brush the tops with any remaining milk & egg mixture then bake for 10-12 minutes until puffy and nicely browned. Depending on the thickness of your scones this may take slightly longer – just keep an eye on them – more than 15 minutes and they may well start to burn.

