Tags

, , , , ,

“Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful”

It must have been lovely to be William Morris.  Or to live inside a Cox & Cox catalogue.  But it wouldn’t be home.

I’m not sure about you but I look around my living room, and it’s a little saunter through time and history.  I’m leaning on cushions which we bought to brighten up the Other Half’s flat way back when we were dating.   I’m sitting on a sofa whose owners are on the other side of the world, entrusted with keeping it safe, a daily reminder of family far away.  The rug on the floor came from a friend’s flat, the painting of a sailboat in a storm from my travels.   A couple of hurricane candleholders and a pair of candlesticks were engagement presents.  My grandparent’s footstool holds all the magazines, both read and unread.  Pretty much everything has come to me for a reason and is very much loved – bar the curtains. Don’t get me started on the curtains. They’re on their fifth incarnation but we can’t change them til we change the other sofa which is not going to happen any time soon. So I try to ignore them. It mostly works.

 It’s not a show home, but it’s our home and I love it.

There’s just one minor problem. I have a gas fire. Again, a handmedown from friends and much appreciated.  It’s not exactly beautiful but it is useful, and a lot less messy than an open fire or a woodburner.

But I can’t use the Cox & Cox toasting fork on it.  Look, see how perfect the crumpet is:

Extending Toasting Fork

The toasting fork is a) useful and b) beautiful.

I’m disregarding fact c) I don’t really like toast in favour of d) I love crumpets.

And just think how perfect a woodburner would be on a day like today.  It started off snowing, and now it’s very meh.

Doesn’t the above image make you want to lick your laptop? Or is that just me? Bit of butter, bit of jam, perfect toasty crumpet licking-finger action.

I’ll have to stick to using the toaster for now. And perhaps email Cox & Cox to ask if I can come and stay for a bit. Just til the sun comes back and my crumpet craving has abaited.

