Tags

, , ,

‘If’ is one of the biggest questions I find myself asking…well, myself. Not in a Rudyard Kipling kind of way, much more selfish than that I’m afraid.

What would I do if Something Extraordinary occurred? How would my life be different if I had changed direction at various key points in the past? Where would we live if we won the lottery? If I’d missed that train, if I’d got that job, if I’d said yes instead of no, or no instead of yes.

I have been pondering upon what I would do differently if I had my time over again. I think the fact that it’s January which has made me do this. It’s either that or the fact that I don’t want to think about having to go running again.

One of my friends once said to me that she had no regrets as her life had shaped her into the person she was and regrets were a waste of time. I can’t agree with that purely because I don’t think regrets are (always) a waste of time. Thinking, sometimes, about what you regret makes you behave differently and perhaps, more positively, the next time the situation occurs. I can’t say being reflective is necessarily counting my regrets, and usually I’m more inclined towards counting my blessings. And sometimes this leads me in different directions in terms of what I want to do next, revealing thoughts which have been bobbing below the surface as yet unformed.

Perhaps this is what makes me so fond of asking the Other Half completely random questions. I never really get a satisfactory answer, mainly because he’s too busy thinking how ridiculous I am. Also he twigged long ago that I actually want him to ask me the question back, so denies me the opportunity to rabbit on.

But I would like to know what we’d do if there was a zombie attack. Or if we were stranded on a desert island, a situation which is highly unlikely in the middle of Yorkshire but Radio 4 has a lot to answer for, what we’d choose as our luxury items or music pieces. What would we do if we suddenly became famous (I can’t think of anything worse!) or if we could do any job, which one? If I could only read one newspaper for the rest of my life, which one would it be? If I won a Nobel prize, what would it be for?

Questions, questions, questions.

What’s your favourite question to ask yourself?

