Tags

, , ,

Yes, I know it is practically the middle of the night. I don’t have children, only a marginally dysfunctional cat.

Therefore I haven’t been awake at this time on Christmas Day since before I entered double figures. I’m not sure how I feel about being pulled from sleep by an excited Other Half, keen to Get On and Do all that needs to be done before we leave for church. It’s more traditional chez moi to fall out of bed and into the car five minutes after I should have left for the morning service – God is usually lucky if I’ve brushed my hair. One year I accidentally left my pj top on under my coat. I think I got away with it. The fact that my mother now checks me over before I go in is irrelevant.

Today we are being guided in the kitchen by the joint patron saints of cooking – La Delia, and St Jamie. The left oven still doesn’t work, so I’ve adapted the planned artichoke souffle into a smoked salmon and artichoke mousse. The turkey wellington is resting in the fridge – I can’t believe how easy it was to make! Although with apologies to Jamie, I used my own cranberry sauce in the making. You can find the recipe here along with a fabulous photo. I’m not sure mine looks quite like that, but it smells divine.

The sprouts are shredded, the kedgeree is defrosting, the table is laid and decorated.

In fact, I think I could practically leave it all to cook itself now. I’ll just have a little nap… Next year, remind me to put a hairbrush in the car…along with a spare outfit.

Buon Natale, Joyeux Noel, Merry Christmas everyone!

